Whenever anyone is diagnosed with cancer, you often hear discussion about the "stage" it is in. 

Stage 1 is the best and Stage 4 is the worst. 

But just what do those stages mean? Here are the definitions of the stages as they apply to breast cancer, according to breatheknowgo.com:

Stage 1 - The earliest stage of invasive breast cancer, meaning cancer has grown or spread into nearby or surrounding breast tissue. Tumor is 2cm (approximately the size of a peanut) or smaller. It may or may not have spread to the lymph nodes.

Stage 2 - Tumor may have started to grow up to 5cm (approximately the size of a lime) and sometimes larger. Cancer may or may not start to appear in the lymph nodes.

Stage 3 - Cancer has usually spread to lymph nodes.

Stage 4 - This stage means the cancer has spread beyond the breast and nearby lymph nodes to other parts of the body. It is also referred to as “metastatic.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.