The latest class of the Marshall County Leadership Challenge (MCLC) recently held their graduation.

The 26 men and women that made up the Leadership Challenge Class of 2019 were chosen because of their leadership potential by the MCLC Board. Jennifer Hulsey, MCLC director, said the memories and friendships the class built over its nine months together would last forever.

“This class has an amazingly positive attitude and has shown enthusiasm in all the programs and projects we have worked on,” Hulsey said.

The class started meeting monthly last August and just finished up in May. A different aspect of leadership was presented each month. September was social services, October was public safety and November was media.

In January, the class explored economic development. They learned about education in February, local and state government during the Marshall County Legislative Reception in Montgomery in March and health in April. The final day of learning was focused on tourism in the county in May, Hulsey said.

Each Leadership Challenge class does a class project. The 2019 group built an outdoor area for the residents at the Neighborhood Inn to hang out in and relax. It rained the day they worked on it but the class persevered.

“Even pouring rain couldn’t dampen their spirits while we were creating an outdoor ‘relaxation space’ for our friends at the Neighborhood Inn,” Hulsey said. “It’s been an honor to work with them all over the past nine months, and hopefully, for many years to come.”

All of the learning, work and adventures the class shared were commemorated at the class’s graduation on May 21. The ceremony was held at Gunter’s Landing where the class enjoyed a meal and was awarded plaques. T

he graduating class included Carla Adams, Wes Alred, Justin Blanks, Colby Cook, Tona Ennis, Christy Farmer, Rebecca Freitag, Heather Green, Chad Hallcox, Todd Haynie, Zach Lee, Rachel Marion, Lance Molock, Laurie Peeler, Kim Patterson, Melissa Ponder, John Davis Rollings, Elliot Rowe, Dietrich Schaefer, Jodi Skinner, Tim Smith, Cindy Sparkman, Matt Stanley, Will Thrash, Brian Waldrop and John Williamson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.